Skip to content

PRESS CLIPS 1840-45

JUST THE BEGINNING

IN PROGRESS

– so far TRIFFITT 1840 – dec 41

HERE’S WHERE WE START TO SEE THE GRANDKIDS EMERGE: KEEP AN EYE OUT FOR FERTILE WILLY, THE FIRST AND MOST PRODIGIOUS OF THE BREED.

*

LAND WAS GRANTED, RESOLD, MORTGAGED, STOLEN, LOST, BARGAINED OR GAMBLED AWAY IN A HIGGLEDY-PIGGEDLEDY MANNER FOR DECADES. BY 1840 EVERYBODY WAS IN A STATE OF UTTER CONFUSION – it’s not hard to see why – HENCE THE ‘EXAMINATION’

Saturday 25 April 1840

*

Tuesday 14 April 1840

*

Colonial Times: Tuesday 21 July 1840 

*

Tuesday 1 September 1840

*

Tuesday 22 September 1840

*

Hobart Town Courier: Friday 25 September 1840

*

Friday 2 October 1840

*

Tuesday 13 October 1840

*

Friday 30 October 1840

*

Friday 6 November 1840

*

Friday 6 November 1840

*

Friday 13 November 1840

*

Tuesday 17 November 1840

*

TOUGH TIMES

Friday 11 September 1840 /  Friday 25 September 1840

*

FERTILE WILLIAM

WILLIAM IS FIRST SON OF JAMES – HE MARRIED ANNE, FIRST DAUGHTER OF THOMAS. AHH, KISMET. THEY WERE KISSIN’ COUSINS. I’m not entirely sure if this constututes inbreeding. Nothing would surprise me by now.

Tuesday 22 September 1840

*

Saturday 26 June 1841

YOU MIGHT CARE TO VISIT OUR FIRST FAMILY BANKRUPT

*

BY THE TIME OF HIS FINANCIAL COLLAPSE WILL HAD FATHERED JUST FOUR OF HIS ONE MILLION CHILDREN

Solomon William b. 27 Oct 1836  * Thomas Sholto Triffitt  b. 5 Apr 1838 * Jonas Urbin b. 4 Apr 1840 * Elijah E b. 23 Nov 1841

*

The Courier: Tuesday 2 February 1841

*

The Courier: Friday 26 March 1841

*

The Courier: Friday 14 May 1841

*

Friday 30 July 1841

*

*

Friday 6 August 1841

*

Friday 3 September 1841

*

The Courier: Friday 3 December 1841

*

Friday 3 September 1841

*

Friday 10 December 1841

MANY THOMAS TRIFFITT poundkeeper clips here

Colonial Times: Tuesday 14 March 1843

*

The Courier: Friday 17 March 1843 

*

 Colonial Times: Tuesday 21 March 1843

*

BANKRUPT

*

Launceston Examiner: Saturday 15 July 1843

*

Launceston Examiner: Saturday 22 July 1843

**

The Courier: Friday 28 July 1843

*

The Courier: Friday 4 August 1843 & Friday 11 August 1843

**

Colonial Times: Saturday 29 March 1845

*

THE COURIER: Tuesday 15 April 1845

*

The Couriet: Thursday 5 June 1845

*

AND THIS FINAL ODDITY FROM 1848

%d bloggers like this: